Fentress launches 2021 airport design competition

LinkedIn +

Fentress Architects, a global design firm that specializes in the creation of public architecture, has announced that the 2021 Fentress Global Challenge (FGC) is open for entries.

Now in its eighth year, the annual international student design competition challenges students to envision a forward-thinking concept for an airport of the future, and in turn, stimulate innovative design in terminal architecture.

“The Fentress Global Challenge is a great opportunity for young designers to bring broad ideas and creative perspectives to the table while spearheading innovation in airport terminal architecture,” explained FGC founder Curtis Fentress, FAIA, RIBA. “We are excited to see how students push the limits of architectural design this year.”

This year’s competition brief encourages students to reimagine the terminal building in the year 2100, siting the new terminal at either an existing airport of their choosing, or at a location where an airport does not yet exist. The latter option calls for participants to consider a city where an airport could serve as a catalyst for economic and social development.

Students’ designs must consider several aspects, including local context, evolving technologies, sustainability and resiliency, security, well-being, mobility, urbanization, globalization, project feasibility, and the overall passenger experience.

The first place winner will receive US$15,000 —the largest prize in FGC’s history. Four additional winners will receive smaller cash prizes.

FGC is open to graduate and undergraduate students currently pursuing architecture or engineering degrees in an accredited university program, as well as recent graduates (within the last four years) with a degree in architecture or engineering.

Competition Schedule
Design Submission Deadline: October 1, 2021
Shortlist Announcement: November 1, 2021
Winners Announcement: December 1, 2021

The First Place Winner: US$15,000
Second Place: US$3,000
Third Place: US$2,000

Two People’s Choice Awards: $1,000

The 2021 FGC will be judged in two stages. A first-round jury of industry experts will shortlist 15 designs from which the second-round jury will select the three finalists. The 2021 FGC Jury, to be announced at a later date, will feature leading aviation and architecture voices while bringing together diverse perspectives from professionals in these industries.

Share this story:

About Author

, web editor

Lawrence has been covering engineering subjects – with a focus on motorsport technology – since 2007 and has edited and contributed to a variety of international titles. Currently, he is responsible for content across UKI Media & Events' portfolio of websites while also writing for the company's print titles.

Comments are closed.