UK government expands use of e-passport gates to seven additional countries

LinkedIn +

Nationals from seven non-EU countries can now use automated e-passport gates when entering the UK.

As of May 20, eligible travelers from seven additional countries can use e-passport gates to enter the UK quickly and securely. Visitors from Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the USA will be entitled to use e-passport gates at ports across the UK and juxtaposed controls, in a move designed to speed up border controls for low-risk countries. More than 10 million visitors from these countries traveled to the UK in 2017.

“Our new global immigration and border system will improve security and fluidity for passengers coming to visit or work in the UK. Expanding the use of e-passport gates is a key part of this and enables us to improve the passenger experience of those arriving in the UK while keeping our border secure,” said Home Secretary Sajid Javid.

Karen Dee, chief Executive of the Airport Operators Association, added, “Enabling more passengers to use e-passport gates is an important next step in our joint efforts to enhance the welcome at the border. It will free up Border Force officers for other duties, improving the experience of all passengers.”

The government is also removing the need for all non-EEA travelers to fill in landing cards upon arrival in the UK, making for a smoother entry to the country.

In the year ending September 2018, 51.9 million passengers used e-passport gates across the UK and juxtaposed controls. At present there are 264 e-passport gates in operation at 15 air and rail terminals in the UK and juxtaposed controls.

Share this story:

About Author


Tara has worked for UKi Media & Events since 2013, initially as a freelancer. She has been a journalist for over a decade and has worked for a range of publications, including Personnel Today, Management Today and The Grocer.

Comments are closed.